Visa Free for South African Passport Holders

Which countries are Visa Free for South African Passport Holders?

If you’re wondering which countries are visa free for South African Passport holders this year? you’ve come to the right place!

According to Henley & Partners’ annual Visa Restrictions Index, which is produced in cooperation with the International Air Transport Association, that was released in April. 2020. Japan the world’s strongest passport with access to. 191 countries visa-free, while Afghanistan has the weakest passport with access to only26 countries.

South Africa is in position 56/109 with access to 101 countries visa-free. In the past 3 years, the strength of the South African Passport hasn’t changed much.

While our passport might not the best in the world, South African citizens can travel without a visa to these countries:

Visa Free Countries for South Africans: Africa

  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Djibouti
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • eSwatini (formerly known as Swaziland
  • Somalia
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Places South Africans don’t need a visa in the Americas

Visa Free for South African Passport Holders

Central America

  • Belize
  • Costa Rica
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama

North America

  • None

South America

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia Cayman Islands
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Ecuador
  • Falkland Islands (United Kingdom)
  • French Guiana (France)
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

Islands near the Americas

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • The British Virgin Islands
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

Visa Free Countries for South Africans: Asia

South African Passport visa-free countries in Europe

Visa Free Countries for South Africans: Oceania

  • Fiji
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Nauru
  • Niue
  • Palau
  • Samoa
  • The Cook Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

Travel Insurance for your next trip

Use travel insurance while exploring the globe so you are covered for theft and medical expenses. There are a lot of adventurous activities to do around the world, and it’s best to have peace of mind while driving, hiking, and trying some of the best food in the world.


Find out why I recommend World Nomads, check out my World Nomads Insurance review.

Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. This means that if you make a booking after clicking on a link, I may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to Top